Text vs. Video in Social Media

Text_vs_VideoSo I read this article on how video is largely underutilized on Facebook and other social media. If you are interested in the article it can be found here http://bit.ly/2tF6ZWX. My Facebook feed is usually filled with videos people have shared so I was a bit shocked to read that. In the article they did a study on what kind of posts get the most interaction. And GUESS WHAT…..it was video. Posts with text only had a lot less response than a post with video. When people not only share video but upload their own videos, there is more interaction between users on the platform. It makes sense though. I am more engaged and likely to watch someone’s vacation video than I am to just read a post about their vacation with nothing but text to keep my attention. If I am looking for a way to do something… a #howto.. I am most likely to look for a video, not a text format information guide. I have never thought about how important video content is, even to me when I am learning. So definitely will be utilizing video more in the future. Here is a tutorial video to help you start today creating your own video using animoto.

Just to add a little something more to think about… Facebook Live is a big thing right now. When it is used for business events, documenting a vacation or something good, I think it is so valuable. What a great tool Facebook has created. What happens though when the content is not good. The downside to Facebook live is that it is truly LIVE stream and people have used it to document the things we don’t want to see in the world. It seems more criminals are claiming their 15 minutes of fame using Facebook live while committing terrible acts. That is one kind of video I do not want to see. This is just my opinion on live streaming and although it will continue, I hope they choose to revise it a little, so that before content is actually posted, it can be approved. Just my thoughts…..What are yours?

 

 

 

Author: kaceywhite

My name is Kacey White. I am a student at Rose State College. I am majoring in Business Administration with an emphasis on Marketing and Social Media. I have three amazing children and I am looking forward to graduating December 2017. I am using this blog for my Social Media class.

Leave a Reply

